Live in Housekeeping / Cook job in Belgravia , London

Location South West London, Greater London, UK
Sector Housekeeping
Job Role Housekeeper / Cook
Job Type Permanent vacancy
Salary Negotiable
Job Number  47467
Created 12 June 2018

Live in Housekeeping / Cook job in Chelsea , London

 

A friendly family that have just moved to London are seeking a warm, calm, proactive Housekeeper/Cook to take over form their current lady who has been with them for 10 years.

 

Mum and dad both work from home too (and occasionally travel for business) and they have 2 boys aged 10 & 12 and an older daughter aged 14 who is at boarding school throughout the week.

You must be happy preparing the youngest boys packed lunch, preparing breakfast for the boys and cooking for them in the evenings. Mum will cook for her and her husband.

 

You will be responsible for the daily cleaning, laundry, ironing and must enjoy ensuring the home is kept very clean at all times. There is expensive art work, glassware and crystal to care for. The ideal candidate will be very willing and have a can do attitude.

 

In the evenings mum and dad will help their children with homework whilst you cook the evening meal. Then later on when mum and dad are eating you will be required to turn down the family’s beds and then tidy up dinner before finishing. You must lay the children’s uniform out for the next day. The family eat quite simple meals, mainly western healthy diet of white meat and rice or pasta or salad dishes. More often than not, desert is fruit. They also enjoy Asian food, either Chinese or Indian. There will be occasional dinner parties but maybe only once a month.

 

The family travel in all the school holidays so you will get lots of down time when they are away. You must be happy to babysit and be flexible to help out on the occasional weekend if needed. Time will be given off in lieu.

 

You must be able to manage household budgets and carry out other administrative tasks such as going to the post office and coordinating with builders and other third parties. Shopping for fresh items is normally done 3x per week at the local M&S and Waitrose. Both stores are 10 minutes walking distance from home. Heavier household items are generally ordered online to be delivered to home.

 

House: 4 bedrooms, 6 storeys

 

Hours: 5/5.5 or 6 days a week

7am to 12.30pm (preparing packed lunches, making beds, tidying rooms, shopping and cleaning); 3-hour break between 12.30pm-3.30pm, then second shift from 3.30pm to 8.30pm (sometimes collecting youngest boy from school 10 minutes’ walk away, ironing, preparing dinner (usually one course for family of 4-5 people) and cleaning up afterwards).

1 night per week of baby-sitting the two boys who are independent.

 

Accommodation for live in’s: your own lovely private bedroom and ensuite bathroom on the lower level of the house, with your own TV, fridge, microwave & kettle.

 

Salary: £negotiable

 

Start: July/August

 

Vacancy Number: 47467

 

Consultant to contact: Dominique Smith

News Portal

Read all